Skip to main content
College Planning

College Tuition in 2026: What It Actually Costs

Degree Sources Editorial Updated 7 min read
Source-reviewed Editorial standards

Recommended next step

See what aid could cover at your school

The aid check stacks Pell, state grant, campus aid and loan limits in about two minutes. You see the result before any email.

Start the aid check

Weigh the cost against the pay

Pick a job and see its BLS median pay, the break-even point and the 10-year return after tuition.

Check degree ROI

For 2025-26, average published tuition and fees run from $4,150 at a public two-year college to $45,000 at a private nonprofit four-year college, according to College Board’s Trends in College Pricing 2025, the latest national averages. Most full-time undergraduates receive grant aid, and after grants, first-time full-time in-state students at public four-year schools pay an estimated $2,300 in tuition on average.

That gap between sticker price and net price is the whole story of college cost. This guide shows both numbers for each type of school, what the rest of the budget adds, and how to find the price you would pay.

$4,150
Public two-year, in-district
2025-26 tuition and fees
$11,950
Public four-year, in-state
2025-26 tuition and fees
$31,880
Public four-year, out-of-state
2025-26 tuition and fees
$45,000
Private nonprofit four-year
2025-26 tuition and fees

Tuition and fees by school type, 2025-26

Sticker prices rose between 2.7% and 4.0% from 2024-25, before inflation. Over ten years, though, public tuition has fallen in real terms.

Average published tuition and fees for full-time undergraduates (College Board, Trends in College Pricing 2025)
School type 2025-26 Change from 2024-25 Change since 2015-16, inflation-adjusted
Public two-year, in-district $4,150 +$110 (2.7%) -$470 (-10%)
Public four-year, in-state $11,950 +$340 (2.9%) -$860 (-7%)
Public four-year, out-of-state $31,880 +$1,060 (3.4%) Not reported
Private nonprofit four-year $45,000 +$1,750 (4.0%) +$1,070 (+2%)
School type Public two-year, in-district
2025-26 $4,150
Change from 2024-25 +$110 (2.7%)
Change since 2015-16, inflation-adjusted -$470 (-10%)
School type Public four-year, in-state
2025-26 $11,950
Change from 2024-25 +$340 (2.9%)
Change since 2015-16, inflation-adjusted -$860 (-7%)
School type Public four-year, out-of-state
2025-26 $31,880
Change from 2024-25 +$1,060 (3.4%)
Change since 2015-16, inflation-adjusted Not reported
School type Private nonprofit four-year
2025-26 $45,000
Change from 2024-25 +$1,750 (4.0%)
Change since 2015-16, inflation-adjusted +$1,070 (+2%)

Where you live moves the number more than any national average. Average in-state tuition at public four-year schools ranges from $6,360 in Florida to $18,090 in Vermont for 2025-26. At community colleges it runs from $1,440 in California to $8,900 in Vermont.

Tuition is only part of the budget

College Board’s student budgets add housing and food, books, transportation and personal costs. For an in-state student at a public four-year school, tuition is well under half the total.

Average 2025-26 budgets for full-time undergraduates
School type Tuition and fees Housing and food Books, transport, other Total budget
Public two-year, in-district $4,150 $10,850 $6,320 $21,320
Public four-year, in-state $11,950 $13,900 $5,140 $30,990
Public four-year, out-of-state $31,880 $13,900 $5,140 $50,920
Private nonprofit four-year $45,000 $15,920 $4,550 $65,470
School type Public two-year, in-district
Tuition and fees $4,150
Housing and food $10,850
Books, transport, other $6,320
Total budget $21,320
School type Public four-year, in-state
Tuition and fees $11,950
Housing and food $13,900
Books, transport, other $5,140
Total budget $30,990
School type Public four-year, out-of-state
Tuition and fees $31,880
Housing and food $13,900
Books, transport, other $5,140
Total budget $50,920
School type Private nonprofit four-year
Tuition and fees $45,000
Housing and food $15,920
Books, transport, other $4,550
Total budget $65,470

The “other” column is the total budget minus tuition and housing. A student living at home can cut the housing line; the tuition line is harder to move without grants.

What students pay after grants

Net price is what’s left after grants and scholarships, the aid you don’t repay. College Board tracks it for first-time, full-time students, and the averages below are in 2025 dollars.

Average sticker price, grant aid and net price, first-time full-time students, 2025-26
School type Tuition and fees Grant aid per student Net tuition and fees Net total budget
Public two-year, in-district $4,150 $5,340 Grants exceed tuition by $1,190 $15,980
Public four-year, in-state $11,950 $9,650 $2,300 $21,340
Private nonprofit four-year $45,000 $28,090 $16,910 $37,380
School type Public two-year, in-district
Tuition and fees $4,150
Grant aid per student $5,340
Net tuition and fees Grants exceed tuition by $1,190
Net total budget $15,980
School type Public four-year, in-state
Tuition and fees $11,950
Grant aid per student $9,650
Net tuition and fees $2,300
Net total budget $21,340
School type Private nonprofit four-year
Tuition and fees $45,000
Grant aid per student $28,090
Net tuition and fees $16,910
Net total budget $37,380

Two things stand out. At community colleges, grant aid has covered tuition and fees on average since 2009-10, so the real cost is living expenses. At private colleges, the average grant of $28,090 cuts tuition by more than half, which is why a private school’s sticker price alone can rule it out too early.

Net tuition at public four-year schools has been falling for a decade.

Average net tuition and fees, first-time full-time in-state students at public four-year schools (2025 dollars)
$6.0k$4.0k$2.0k$0 2015-16: $4.4k 2016-17: $4.4k 2017-18: $4.1k 2018-19: $3.9k 2019-20: $3.4k 2020-21: $3.3k 2021-22: $2.5k 2022-23: $2.7k 2023-24: $2.5k 2024-25: $2.3k 2025-26: $2.3k 2015-16 2016-17 2017-18 2018-19 2019-20 2020-21 2021-22 2022-23 2023-24 2024-25 2025-26

It peaked at $4,450 in 2012-13 in 2025 dollars. The average hides a wide spread, since grants depend on income, so your own net price can be far above or below it.

How grants bring the price down

Three sources of grant money decide most of the gap between sticker and net price.

Federal Pell Grant. For 2026-27, Pell pays up to $7,395 a year, and the smallest award is $740. You get the maximum if your Student Aid Index (SAI) is zero or below, or if your family’s AGI is at or under a set share of the 2024 poverty guideline: 175% for most families, or 225% for single parents. For a family of three that is $45,185; for a single parent with one child it is $45,990. Pell is not available to students who already hold a bachelor’s degree, apart from some teacher certification and workforce programs.

State grants. They depend on where you live and study. For 2026-27, Cal Grant B at a University of California campus is worth up to $17,236 a year, covering tuition and fees plus the access award. The TEXAS Grant pays up to $5,399 per semester in 2026-27. Some states award money first come, first served, so the date you file matters. Our state financial aid guide lists the programs and deadlines.

Campus aid. Colleges use their own grants to set their net price. That’s the $28,090 average at private nonprofit schools, and it’s why two colleges with similar sticker prices can cost very different amounts.

Online programs price differently

Many online schools charge per credit or a flat rate per term instead of an annual sticker price. Two large nonprofit examples:

Published online undergraduate tuition, 2026-27
School How it charges Published price
Southern New Hampshire University Per credit $354 a credit, $10,620 for 30 credits
Western Governors University Flat rate per six-month term, take as many courses as you finish $3,475 to $5,325 a term for bachelor's programs
School Southern New Hampshire University
How it charges Per credit
Published price $354 a credit, $10,620 for 30 credits
School Western Governors University
How it charges Flat rate per six-month term, take as many courses as you finish
Published price $3,475 to $5,325 a term for bachelor's programs

WGU’s new rates apply to terms starting on or after October 1, 2026, and most of its bachelor’s programs are $3,825 or $3,850 a term, about $7,650 to $7,700 for two terms. SNHU charges active-duty service members $250 a credit. Neither figure includes a housing line, which is where most of the saving over a campus program comes from for adults who already live on their own.

How to find the price you would pay

  1. File the FAFSA

    The 2027-28 FAFSA opened September 23, 2026 and reads 2025 tax information, for classes from July 1, 2027. If you’re enrolling this school year, the 2026-27 form stays open until June 30, 2027.

  2. Run each college's net price calculator

    Every college’s net price calculator shows what students like you paid the previous year after grants and scholarships. The Department of Education’s Net Price Calculator Center links to them.

  3. Check your state grant deadline

    First-come state programs can run out of money early in the cycle. File as soon as you can after the FAFSA opens.

  4. Compare aid offers line by line

    Separate grants from loans and work-study in each offer. Only grants and scholarships lower your net price.

Frequently asked questions

Is college tuition going up in 2026-27?

The latest College Board averages cover 2025-26. That year, published tuition and fees at public four-year schools rose 2.9% before inflation, and private nonprofit tuition rose 4.0%. Check each school’s 2026-27 rates on its own site.

What’s the difference between sticker price and net price?

Sticker price is the published tuition and fees. Net price is what you pay after grants and scholarships. At public four-year schools in 2025-26, the average sticker price was $11,950 and the average net tuition for first-time full-time in-state students was $2,300.

Does Pell cover community college tuition?

The 2026-27 maximum Pell Grant of $7,395 is more than the 2025-26 average community college tuition of $4,150. College Board reports that grant aid has covered tuition and fees for first-time full-time community college students on average since 2009-10, though living costs remain.

Your next step

The averages above tell you what’s typical, not what you’d pay. Run the aid check to see your Pell Grant, state grant and loan limits side by side, then compare that number with the budgets for the schools on your list.

Set your aid next to these tuition numbers

The aid check estimates Pell and shows your federal loan limits, so you can weigh a program's cost against what aid could cover.

Start the aid check

Free finish-line plan

See how far you are from your degree

Tell us what you are working toward and the credits you have. See how many terms are left.

What you're working toward